Loss of the right to vote


Those countries that have not paid the ITU their annual dues will not be entitled to vote at the conference. This document names 17 of them; most from Africa.


Despite the ITU Secretary-General's continued insistence that the organization does not make decisions by votes, it is very possible that it may occur if the conference deadlocks.

Most significant is the potential loss of a large number of Africa countries, which may weaken the African vote block - a block that has proven decisive in many previous UN meetings.

Under the Constitution (Geneva, 1992), a Member State of the Union shall no longer be entitled to vote:

a) as from 1 July 1996, when, as a signatory Member State (S), it has not deposited an instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval of the ITU Constitution and Convention (Geneva, 1992) (see No. 210 of the Constitution); or

b) as from 1 July 1994, when, as a non-signatory Member State (NS), it has not deposited an instrument of accession to the ITU Constitution and Convention (see No. 212 of the Constitution); or

c) when it is in arrears in its payments to the Union (A), for so long as the amount of its arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contribution due for the two preceding years (see No. 169 of the Constitution and Resolution 41 (Rev. Guadalajara, 2010)).

For any of the above reasons and until such time as the situation is rectified, the following 17 Member States will not be entitled to vote:

Member States
(in French alphabetical order)

Register for full access

If you register with the site, at no cost, you can access all content on this site.